Match Report

Taken from FAI Schools Meath Facebook page:

Dunboyne  and Mount Hanover create history

Despite the horrendous weather conditions at the MDL grounds on 28th April,the Leinster Finals of the SPAR Primary 5s  were a huge success  with two of the sections being won by Meath schools and a third the girls from Yellow Furze , Beauparc coming agonising close when pipped by Offaly School St.Colman’s in the crucial decider. The boys from Mount Hanover were in scintillating form as they cruised into the National finals with comprehensive wins over schools from Dublin,Kildare and Wexford in Section A for small schools. Captain  Adam Kelly set up star striker Alan Bowden to score most of the goals in three convincing wins by Enda Ruddy’s charges.

Dunboyne boys won the Leinster Title in Section C for Large schools for the very first time with maximum points from three games . In horrendous conditions ,Dunboyne, managed by Brendan Keogh, defeated St. Mark’s Tallaght 5-1, St. John’s SNS, Kilkenny by 5-2 and St. Corban’s  Naas by 4-1 to top the group and thus qualify for the All-Ireland finals at the Aviva. Inspired by top scorer and captain Roland Banya, Dunboyne came back from a goal down against St. Mark’s to win 5-1. Banba plays his club football with St.Kevin’s Boys and recently was man of the match against Barcelona U-13s on their visit to Dublin at Easter!

On Wednesday 11th May at the Aviva (KO 12 pm) ,Dunboyne and Mount Hanover will seek to emulate the All-Ireland success achieved by other Meath Schools,St.Michael’s Trim 1996 and 2013,Rathbeggan 2005 and Athboy 2012. Many more Meath schools have advanced to the National Finals only to fail to do themselves justice on the day. This year both Meath schools have a wonderful opportunity to capture National titles, particularly Mount Hanover, who have won all of their games emphatically. Dunboyne could well succeed also but will be in a much more competitive section,that of the large schools Section C.

MT HANOVER  Seán Mc Quail, Tom Bowden, Lucas Mc Keen, Adam Kelly (C), Alan Bowden,  Conor Mc Quail, Dylan Collins, Taigue Donagh.
DUNBOYNE Eoghan McCormack, Simon Cunningham, Dylan Vaughan, Roland Banya, Tommy Lonergan, Davan Ryan, Jack Brown, Josh Keeley.